Rodeo Talk about Isuzu Rodeo related topics here...

The Towing Experience

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 09:12 PM
Question The Towing Experience

A search on here helped me get some info on people towing with the Rodeo but since I'm very new to SUV's in general and even newer to Isuzu I wanted to run my plans by some of the more experienced Rodeo drivers to hopefully get some input.

The Trip: 1400 miles mostly flat but with some moderate mountain roads (East TN to Denver).

The Vehicle: 2001 with 4WD Automatic and it's immaculate and very well taken care of. When I got the inspection done before purchasing it, even the guys in the shop commented on how sound it was. It is equipped with the optional tow package.

The Trailer: I want to tow a small 5x8 trailer from uHaul. The trailer empty is 900lbs and I might add another 800lbs max (probably more like 500 but estimating high) so lets say the load is 1700lbs.

I know in theory the Rodeo can tow this no problem since it's well under the max of 4500lbs but I'm still curious what others thought. I'm also looking for is some tips (driving speeds, changing gears, power mode etc.), things to do before and after the trip to make it go smooth and even an estimated mpg if someone has pulled a similar weight (a long shot I know haha).

I've only towed things around town with an old F150 so my knowledge of towing is pretty basic and I'm pretty dumb about vehicles in general so just assume I don't know anything

Thanks guys!

Old 08-06-2010, 10:15 AM