General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

92 Trooper help

  #1  
Old 08-11-2006, 02:31 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default

While driving yesterday the BRAKE, FUEL, O2, and BATTERY lights came on. Shortly after the idle started acting up and unstable. Any ideas what might the cause be? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 08-11-2006, 11:20 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 268
Default

NEEDS A ALTERNATOR.NEXT TIME IT DOES IT PULL OVER AT AUTOZONE OR ADVANCE AN GET THEM TO CHECK ALTERNATOR VOLTAGE.SHOULD BE 13.5 TO 14+ VOLTS.YOUR BLOWER FAN PROABLY TURNED OFF ALSO WHEN THIS HAPPENED
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:56 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default

Well, the alternator checked OK but the battery was bad. So I changed it, it took care of the dash lights but the rpm jumps up and down and the engine sounds like it's running cold with 3500 rpm when idle (I can hear the hissing sound of the chocke). Any thoughts?
 
  #4  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:11 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 268
Default

make sure you dont have any vacum hoses loose or broken an check closely at the trottle linkage,the actual shaft that passes through the carb.grab the linkage an try to move it side to side.they where out at the bushings an also cause vacuum leaks an where the dash lights on at the time you had the alt checked?Edited by: ISUZUGURU
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default



The alterntor was taken off the car when checked at Autozone. I've replaced a bunch of vaccum hoses but the idle does not want to go below 3500. Could it be a sensor of some sort?
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:43 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 29
Default

Idle fluctuations may have been caused by a vacuum leak thatcauses too much air to enter the throttle body.If you've replaced the hoses already, then most probably an overly hot engine is causing your problem. I don't think the sensor has got to do with it though.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gixxertrix
Trooper
1
01-18-2008 10:00 PM
techNic
Trooper
3
01-26-2007 10:31 PM
bobbyl1989
General Tech
0
12-21-2006 07:10 PM
trooper90
Trooper
0
12-01-2006 04:49 PM
RDL888
Trooper
1
08-28-2006 05:50 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 92 Trooper help


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.