New Member Area New to IF? Stop in tell us about you...

2000 Trooper oil consumtion

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2005, 09:21 PM

I am new to the forum. Just purchased my very first far east made made vehicle, the Trooper, S model, 3.5 v6, white and tan, 61k, super clean.I like it alot and it has been great for the first 3000k. I went to check my oil and it was down about a quart. Now I know a dealer will tell me thats acceptable, but I have lots of mechanical background with autos and I totally will disagree. I have had many vehicles that use much less oil in 3k miles.

Anyway, can anyone tell me if they have had similar expeiences and what has been the result? Did it indicate a larger issue that I should be looking into before it gets any worse?

I was going to have a compression test done and a leak down test. Any other thoughts?

Do I need to move my questions to the Trooper Forum? Going to see Episode III revenge of the Sith so might be online l;ater tonight or tomorrow.

Old 07-01-2005, 11:40 AM

OK, ckeck out what oil you are using in your motor and if its too light then use a heavier oil. If you don't know what weight is the best for your engine and mileage, then you could go to your nearest auto parts store and they could tell you. You can find it also in a haynes or chiltons manual for isuzu troopers. If you are using the right oil, then I suggest that you go on and do the compression and leak down tests. If you have any doubts or questions just reply

Old 10-31-2005, 02:52 AM

cetmanhd

have had similar useof oil in my 2000 3.2 rodeo. on my trips down to fla. had to add about 1/2 qt. oil every 2 tankfulls. was shocked as my previous vehicle ( blazer ) did not require any oil between changes. to avoid adding oil so often i simply added a quart more above the fill line. probably the wrong thing to do. i may try going to heavier oil.