Rodeo Talk about Isuzu Rodeo related topics here...

What to expect?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 06:33 PM

Okay newbie here, I just picked up a 94 rodeo 5spd with 195k on the clock. So far it seems to run pretty good. The exterior is in fairly good shape with very little rust. The interior was severely neglected but nothing I cant handle granted I got it for 500 bucks. It shifts smooth and 4wd works well in hi and lo. My only concern so far is the noisy valve train. (lifters ticking I think) I will do sea foam and egr clean out in the very near future. I will also have to do some exhaust repair which may or may not quiet some of the noise. It was also low on coolant when I picked it up but there was no evidence of leakage and the oil was not contaminated although it was dirty which I suspect has probably led to the valve train noise due to poor maintenance and the oil issues I have already read about along with the door and window issues. In spite of this I will be trying to bring this beast back. So what else should I look out for? Happy so far? thanks.

Old 01-07-2008, 06:04 PM

At that age and mileage the rubber bushings for suspension parts are probably long past shot. Rear leaf spring bushings seem to be the first to go. I wont even consider changing front upper or lower control arm bushings myself, they are a real bi**h to do. I paid someone to do my lower ones which cost about what you paid for your truck and was told they wont do isuzu bushings again LOL. I'm getting ready to pay someone else to do uppers. Pretty common for radiators to be plugged at that age as well, especially if it was neglected. If you see anything odd about the temps it runs, that could be it. Otherwise I would just think normal wear items that could be wearing out at that mileage. Mechanically the drivetrain should go many more miles. If the timing belt and water pump hasnt been changed they are long over due.